Skip to main content

Researching 1930s In the U.S.: Home

This guide provides a variety of information on the 1930s and everything it encompasses during that time

Welcome to Your Research Guide!

Your Research Librarian has put together a guide for you to help you research time periods. This guide will be helpful when finding information about the 1930s.

 

This guide contains an extensive variety of resources that will allow you to explore accurate and credible information.

 

During your time at Ringling you will be expected to present on a wide range of topics and the expectation is that strong research is a part of your design. We're expecting to see academic resources and not just sites you found using Google.

 

Follow the instructions below:

1) Find Books

Use this page to find books about culture and where to find them.  This guide has been separated by subject.

2) Find Articles

This is where you'll find a majority of information for your topic. There are a multitude of databases available.  You'll also be able to find information about culture, art, and social issues.

3) Find Reference/Background Information

Reference resources are great for providing general information. Because of how concise these resources are, they are time savers.

4) Find Images

You'll need to have images for your presentation, and there are two very good resources to help you find ones that visually represent your topic.

5) Schedule an Appointment

Here's where you can schedule your group to meet with a Research Consultant at the Library.

NYPL: Digital Collections: Styles for men and boys

Search for 1930s Information

This guide provides scholarly resources on select topics during the 1930s: its culture, its practices, and the beliefs held during that era. The focus here is to provide students and researchers with some of the main tools available through the library and on the web. Search the Goldstein Library catalog to find these resources and materials:

1. The collection:

Goldsteins catalog adopts a diverse collection development policy to insure that all patrons and their needs are considered; and to ensure that the collection reflects a holistic perspective the of the country, religions, contemporary issues, and economic growth that may be involve deeper exploration. 

2. How to search the catalog:

In general, a keyword search is a great place to start. Simply enter the name of what you are searching for, Lost Generation, into the search box. Make sure to focus on the Subject heading that is located below the Notes field of the results page, this will ensure that you find more resources that serve your topics. 

3. How to search the databases:  

Language manipulation is key to strategically planning a search. This is because subject headings are used to assist in searching for information, however, as language has changed the libraries vocabulary has stayed the same, something that complicates searching. For example, if you are looking for a house in Florida the subjects heading is not cataloged as House. To find resources, begin by thinking of words that relate to house, such as buildingsarchitecture, or dwellings

Goldstein has a longstanding cooperative loan agreement with various schools around the southeast. If there is a book or article that we do not have at the library take advantage of the InterLibrary Loan link. We normally receive materials requested in a timely manner.