Skip to main content

ARHU 422: Contemporary Issues in Art: Welcome and Assignments

This guide will help you learn how to find scholarly articles for your annotated bibliography, understand how to write annotations, and find scholarly sources.

Welcome

Use this research guide to learn what scholarly articles are, how to search for them, where to find full text articles and how to cite and annotate.  

First, review the assignment to make sure that you understand what's expected.

Second, make sure you read about the differences of Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals.  Make sure to follow the link to Duke University's excellent guide that will tell you the differences.

Then, use the Art Source and ProQuest tabs to find the most useful databases for your research.  Make sure you watch the videos, which show you specifically how to search for full-text scholarly journals, including reviews. 

Also, click on the Find Full Text Articles tab to see how you can track down copies of articles when you only have the citation.

You can also search for books using the Find Books tab.

Finally, find citation tools on the Citations tab and learn more about Annotated Bibliographies.

If you have ANY questions at all about how to do this, email your Research Librarians, Sarah and Jennifer.  Or, simply drop by the front desk in the library, and our staff can help you.

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

The Annotated Bibliography Assignment

Research and find a total of 12 resources about an artist that you will choose with Dr. Albritton's approval.

  • 8 will be scholarly articles or books that you find using the Library's resources; and,
  • 4 will be articles that you find using Google.

You may not use reviews for your resources.  A review is a critical assessment of:

  • a specific exhibition that an artist has been in;
  • an exhibition catalog of the artist's work;
  • or a book that is about the artist. 

For instance, you could use a book that is about the artist, but you could not use an article that evaluates the book and describes what is good about the book and what might be lacking.

Once you have found 12 resources, you will create an annotated bibliography that you will bring to the next class, typed and printed.  Your annotations will be evaluations of the resources you found.  What is the article or book about?  What is good about it?  Does it focus on a particular aspect of the artist or their work? What might be missing from the article?  Why would you use this article if you were going to write or present about your research?

At the beginning of next week's class, you will do a 'show and tell' of the work you completed this week. We will discuss the bibliographies and your experience in creating them. We will also discuss how useful they can be for your final project.

Subject Guide

Claire Powell
Contact:
Alfred R. Goldstein Library
941-309-0038