In order to assist library goers with locating information the Library of Congress has created Subject Headings. These subject headings serve as electronic files for the resources you are looking for; this organization method allows you to find precise information quickly.
You may use these Subject Headings to locate interior design resources:
Interior decoration.
Interior decoration -- History.
Interior decoration -- Human factors.
Textile fabrics in interior decoration.
Furniture -- History.
Furniture -- Style -- History.
Architecture -- History.
Landscape design.
The Goldstein Library subscribes to numerous interior design resources. Below is a list of magazines and periodicals currently held by the library. These resources will have up to date information relating to interior design as well as historical, survey, and professional information.
This database includes research summaries of over 100 refereed journals related to resource, social, environmental, behavioral, and design challenges. Once you locate an article you would like, you can fill out an InterLibrary Loan form to request a copy.
Art Source is the first stop for arts research. It covers fine arts, contemporary art, art history, architecture, costume design, advertising, interior design, crafts, photography, printmaking, sculpture, video and more. With full-text for over 630 journals (including many international), citations for even more, plus an image collection, it's a great database to find research on the arts.
Art:Search is a resource that provides full text art journals from the 19th and 20th century. It also includes biographical information and design abstracts.
The Goldstein Library has numerous books on the history of interior design and interior decoration as well as books related to specific period styles. Here are a few titles to help get you started.
The Abrams Guide to Period Styles for Interiors by 
History of Interior Design and Furniture by 
History of Interior Design by 
Understanding Architecture by 
Encyclopedia Britannica is an online encyclopedia spanning many disciplines.