Special Collections Center: Ringling College Archives

Schedule a viewing appointment
specialcollections@c.ringling.edu

Sign-up for a research consultation
https://calendly.com/goldstein-library

Cheri Marks (she, her) MFA, MSI
Special Collections Curator and Archivist

Cmarks@ringling.edu 

941- 359-7583

Follow us on Social Media:

Spring Hours

Monday - Friday: Open by appointment 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., no drop-ins
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Holidays: Closed January 15 and May 6, 2024 

Location
Ringling College of Art + Design
2nd floor of the Alfred R. Goldstein Library
2700 N. Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34234

Download a campus map

The mission of the Ringling College Archives is to:

• Chronicle the history of the College in Sarasota and the art and design community at large
• Document and support the college’s mission of preparing students to be discerning visual thinkers and ethical art and design practitioners
• Preserve and contextualize the history of Ringling College for future generations
• Build, describe, and make available materials of historical significance to the College

The Ringling College Archives have both organized and unorganized collections of historical campus materials, including:

• Campus publications (yearbooks, catalogs, commencement materials, promotional literature, student magazines, etc.)
• Departmental collections
• Posters
• Architectural blueprints and schematics
• Photographs and scrapbooks
• Media (VHS, DVD, audio cassettes) 
• College ephemera

What does the Ringling College Archives do? 

• Makes the College's archives and history accessible to the campus community and the public
• Offers research consultations on using archives at Ringling College and beyond
• Provides class instruction on archives and primary sources
• Trains users on Special Collections' Overhead Book Scanner
• Consults on digital archiving initiatives and best practices for digital storage organization

The Archives have both processed and unprocessed materials relating to the college's history. Below are links to the finding aids for collections that are readily available for use.