Skip to main content

SBSC 350: Culture and Civilization of India: Getting Started

This course will examine the culture of India and other nations of the South Asian sub-continent.

Welcome to Your Research Guide!

Your Research Librarian has put together a guide for you to help you research India and Southeast Asian culture.

This guide will be helpful when finding information for your presentation.

We have already reviewed your topics and you can find valid, accurate and credible information about each of your topics in the resources we've listed on this guide.

We will be attending your presentations, and we may be asking you about your research. We're expecting to see library resources, and not just sites you found using Google.

Follow the instructions below:

1) Find Books

Use this page to find books about India and where to find them.  There are also links for two eBooks about India.

2) Find Articles

This is where you'll find a majority of information for your topic. There are two databases to use, and you should use both as the databases cover different aspects of your topic.  You'll also be able to find information about India, its culture, art, and gender issues.

3) Find Reference/Background Information

Use these resources to find general information.

4) Find Images

You'll need to have images for your presentation, and there are two very good resources to help you find ones that visually represent your topic.

5) Schedule an Appointment

Here's where you can schedule your group to meet with a Research Consultant at the Library.

NYPL Digital Collections: Festival procession, Hanuman/green monkey god figure on litter, with 8 bearers, and 2 others leading, making offerings

 

Searching for Indian Materials

This guide provides various scholarly resources for the study of India and select topics related to Indian culture, practices, and beliefs. The focus here is to provide students and researchers with some of the main tools available through the library and across the web. Search the Goldstein Library catalog to find these resources and materials:

1. The collection:

Goldsteins catalog adopts a diverse collection development policy as the way to insure that all patrons and their needs are considered and that the collection reflects a holistic perspective the of the country, religions, contemporary issues, and economic growth. 

2. How to search the catalog:

In general, a keyword search is a great place to start. Simply enter the name of what you are searching for, Buddhism, into the search box. Make sure to focus on the Subjects heading that is located below the Notes field of the results page, this will ensure that you find more resources that serve your topics. 

3. How to search the databases:  

Language manipulation is one of the best ways to start your searches. This is partially because subject headings are used to assist in searching for information, however, as language has changed the libraries vocabulary has stayed the same, womething that complicates searching. For example, if you are looking for a house in Florida the subjects heading is not cataloged as House. To find resources, begin by thinking of words that relate to house, such as buildings, architecture, of dwellings

Goldstein has a longstanding cooperative loan agreement with various schools around the southeast. If there is a book or article that we do not have at the library take advantage of the InterLibrary Loan link. We normally receive materials requested in a timely manner. 

Subject Guide

Claire Powell
Contact:
Alfred R. Goldstein Library
941-309-0038