Research Librarian
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Game Art + Design, Copyright & Creative Commons, Computer Animation, Anime, Illustration, Graphic Design, Modern + Contemporary Art, Business Research, Advertising Design, Business of Art+Design, Motion Design, Fine Arts (Printmaking, Sculpture, Painting) My favorite books are:: Discworld and anything by Terry Pratchett, Steel Beach by John Varley (& his short stories), Bellweather/Connie Willis, Casino Royale/Ian Fleming, all Sherlock Holmes/Arthur Conan Doyle, Battle Royale/Koushun Takami, Ghost in the Shell/Masamune Shirow, This Side of Paradise/F. Scott Fitzgerald, War for the Oaks/Emma Bull, Charles De Lint's urban fantasy, Wuthering Heights/Emily Bronte and any folklore from Andrew Lang or the Pantheon Folklore Library |
Welcome
Use this research guide to learn what scholarly articles are, how to search for them, and where to find full text articles.
First, make sure you read the Duke University Libraries' guide to understanding Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals.
Then, use the ProQuest and Academic Search Complete tabs to find the most useful databases for your research. Make sure you watch the videos, which show you specifically how to search for full-text scholarly journals, including reviews.
Finally, click on the Find Full Text Articles tab to see how you can track down copies of articles when you only have the citation.
If you have ANY questions at all about how to do this, email your Research Librarians, Sarah and Jennifer. Or, simply drop by the front desk in the library, and our staff can help you.
Popular Magazine vs. Scholarly Journal
What's the difference between a popular magazine and a scholarly journal? Follow the link below for a great explanation from Duke University Libraries!
Why does it matter which one I use? It matters a lot! Depending on your research, you might need to make sure that you're using articles from a peer-reviewed academic source (scholarly journals). The link below will help you to identify when you're looking at a scholarly journal.
Definitions
Catalog Record
The catalog record describes the item that's in the library. It usually includes the title, author, physical description, location, call number, status (available/checked out) and other notes about the item.
Citation
A citation is a reference to a published or unpublished source. Citations can be found in articles, books and other recorded materials. There are several different citation styles, including MLA (Modern Language Assocation), APA (American Psychological Association), Chicago and Turabian.
Index
Indexes provide subject, author, and/or title indexing to a particular set of periodicals and gives a full citation for each article.
Bibliography
A bibliography is a group of citations. These are often found at the end of books or articles. It may also be called "Works Cited."
Research Librarian |
Subjects: Art, Design, Graphic Design, Digital Film, Game Art, Computer Animation, Illustration, Photography + Digital Imaging, Motion Design, Advertising Design, Business of Art + Design, Fine Arts, Printmaking, Sculpture, Painting, Interior Design My favorite books are:: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, The Griffin and Sabine series by Nick Bantock, The Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde |





Loading...
