Skip to main content

Special Collections Center: Home

Welcome!

Photo credit: Ryan Gamma

Drop-In Hours & Location

Drop-In Hours (Fall and Spring Semester)

Monday - Friday: 10:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., or by appointment
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Please note: The Center will be closed December 17, 2018-January 2, 2018. We will reopen January 3, 2018.

Location
Ringling College of Art + Design
2nd floor of the Alfred R. Goldstein Library
2700 N. Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34234

Download a campus map

Contact Information

Questions? Just Ask!
specialcollections@c.ringling.edu

Janelle Rebel
Digital Curation and Special Collections Librarian 
jrebel@c.ringling.edu
(941) 359-7583

Alexandra Vargas-Fournier
Digital Collections Assistant 
avfourni@ringling.edu
(941) 309-4055

Follow us on Social Media:

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube

Email List Sign Up

Social Media

Brizdle-Schoenberg Special Collections Center

The Brizdle-Schoenberg Special Collections Center specializes in artists’ publication projects, prints, and rare books.


Hands-On Object-Based Research
Gather ideas for a creative project, engage in scholarly research, or discover something new. Gain hands-on experience utilizing original source materials in our reading room, and explore our unique collections through an active exhibition program and campus events.

Collection Types
We have a growing and diverse survey of contemporary artists' publication projects from the 1960s to the present, a small study collection of broadsides and prints, and rare books from the late 18th century to the present.

You'll find: broadsides, democratic multiples, documentation of time-based projects, engravings, exhibition publications, experimental writing, fine press books, handmade editions, photo-bookworks, prints, rare books, and zines.

Open to Everyone
Open to students, staff, faculty, art and design practitioners, and the general public. 
If you’d like to schedule a research consultation, class visit, or group tour please contact our Center staff in advance.

Faculty Resources
As a teaching resource for faculty, the Center can be booked for class visits, reading events, critique sessions, performances, and extracurricular activities. Center staff provide orientations to the collections, pull pertinent resources in advance of a class visit, and suggest ways of incorporating the materials into project briefs and assignments.

Current Exhibitions

Textile and Wallpaper Block Printing, 18th to 20th c.

Opens November 9, 2018
Brizdle-Schoenberg Special Collections Center hallway

This new permanent exhibit presents a historical snapshot of the hand and machine processes involved in creating pattern blocks and producing decorative designs for wearable textiles and home furnishings. The blocks, castings, and roller on display were generously donated to the Center by Patrick Lindhardt, Professor Emeritus, Ringling College of Art + Design.

Step and Repeat: Pattern in Artists’ Publications

November 9, 2018 through December 15, 2018
Brizdle-Schoenberg Special Collections Center

Step and Repeat excavates the pleasures of pattern in the coverings, interiors, linings, and details of thirty artists’ publications. Visually arranged into conceptual motifs (flora & fauna, power, psychedelic, geometric, experimental, liquid, figures, and security), these books aim to mesmerize, distract, propel, disrupt, and entice the reader.