Skip to main content

Special Collections Center: Using the Center

Drop-In Hours & Location

Drop-In Hours (Fall and Spring Semester)

Monday - Friday: 10:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., or by appointment
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Location
Ringling College of Art + Design
2nd floor of the Alfred R. Goldstein Library
2700 N. Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34234

Download a campus map

Contact Information

Questions? Just Ask!
specialcollections@c.ringling.edu

Janelle Rebel
Digital Curation and Special Collections Librarian 
jrebel@c.ringling.edu
(941) 359-7583

Alexandra Vargas-Fournier, CA
Archivist
avfourni@ringling.edu
(941) 309-4055

Follow us on Social Media:

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube

How To Use the Center

  • Make an appointment or drop by during open hours.
  • Wash hands.
  • Sign in at the check-in area.
  • Stow belongings and any food or drink in the check-in area.
  • Brainstorm keywords, concepts, and search terms. The Artists' Book Thesaurus can be a helpful tool.
  • Search the library catalogNeed assistance? Ask the Special Collections Librarian to help. 
  • Fill out a request slip to request materials or email item requests prior to visiting.
  • Engage--touch, see, explore.
  • Take notes with pencils or electronic devices--no inks.
  • Materials are for use within the Center and cannot be checked out. However, items from the vault can be set aside for a researcher to consult over multiple visits. There is also a large-format overhead scanner for researchers to use.
     
  • Not sure where to begin? Schedule a research consultation by contacting specialcollections@c.ringling.edu.

Classes and Group Tours

  • We recommend two weeks advance notice for class visits or group tours.
  • We recommend that new faculty or faculty teaching new courses schedule a brief face-to-face meeting with the Special Collections Librarian.
  • For class visits, faculty please provide the class syllabus, project unit, and/or assignment details to the Special Collections Librarian.
  • The reading room on the 2nd floor can accommodate up to 24 persons. We schedule larger classes (up to 40 persons) in the 3rd floor space behind the elevators. 

Reproduction Guidelines

  • All duplication requests for scanning and photocopies are subject to copyright and fair use restrictions and condition of the materials. Readers may take digital photographs and use the overhead book scanner for research use.
  • For Rights information please contact the Digital Curation and Special Collections Librarian.