Artificial Intelligence at Ringling

JSTOR's Experimental AI Chat with Your Retrieved Articles, etc.

• Chat with Your Results: Click on the title of an article or chapter to access the full-text, and JSTOR's AI Interactive research tool window opens alongside the article text. First, the text in the window explains the AI tool and offers buttons for specific functions it can perform including Summarize, Show related content, etc. A blank "Ask a question" box allows users to direct the AI to extract specific information in response to prompts. Users can download their conversation including the generated output.
• The image shows a report titled "Generative AI and engagement with reality" and the AI-generated summary produced by the Interactive Research tool, plus additional suggested questions or prompts for the AI.
  
   

View larger image. Adapted from Texas A&M University.

• Note: You need to set up a free, individual JSTOR log-in and access Workspace to have these features available to you.

The new JSTOR AI research tool empowers you to deepen and expand your research with JSTOR’s trusted corpus. Developed in collaboration with our community, this tool leverages AI and other advanced technologies to help you elevate your research, teaching, and learning.

If enabled, this feature will appear on the item page for journal articles, book chapters, and research reports, and as a search option in addition to JSTOR’s standard keyword search. Use the research tool to evaluate and explore content, or find related content.

The tool is in active development so new features and improvements are frequently added.

Generate AI Insights in EBSCO

• When full-text articles are available, the Generate AI Insights button may appear beside the Access Options button.
• Clicking the button initiates the AI insights feature. The Insights are generally 2 - 5 bullet points that are identified as highlights or important points from the article.

View larger image

View larger image. Adapted from Texas A&M University.

• The Generate AI Insights function has been rolled out across all EBSCO databases; HOWEVER, it's availability depends on publishers to opt in. This is why it appears sporadically in various databases. It is also important to note that it only shows up for resources that include a direct full-text file as an access option.

Important Terms of Use Restrictions

• Several subscription-based academic literature databases (i.e. those provided by the Library such as EBSCO products) restrict the use of database content with external AI tools.
  • EBSCO's (2024) License Agreement states, "Licensee and Authorized Users may not use artificial intelligence tools or machine learning technologies with any of the content included in the Databases or Services for any purpose."
• Elsevier includes the following copyright statement on its site pages: "All rights are reserved, including those for text and data mining, AI training, and similar technologies. For all open access content, the relevant licensing terms apply."

ProQuest Quick Add Keywords

• ProQuest Central and other ProQuest Databases offer suggested related keywords and phrases that may be helpful to the researcher's database search.
• The researcher enters an initial search and then when the results are displayed, suggested keywords to add to the search are offered below the search box.

View larger image

• The image shows a sample search related to trauma-informed assessment in higher education. The final phrase added to the search is "Adverse childhood experiences." This was a suggested Quick Add keyword that appeared below the search box after the first search was initiated. 

ProQuest Research Assistant

• When a researcher opens an article from the results list for which the full-text is available, the Research Assistant launches in a side window. 

View larger image. Adapted from Texas A&M University.

• The Research Assistant offers the following:
  • An AI-generated key takeaway points, usually one or two related sentences. 
  • Suggested related information sources
  • A list of subject indexing terms that were used to classify the document with the option to search using one or more of the terms
  • Sometimes other related filtering options are included, such as location 
  • A Brainstorm related research topics button
    • Upon clicking the related topics  button, 5 potentially related topics are recommended
    • Each related topic is expressed as a phrase plus a sentence explaining why it might be a useful topic to explore
  • A Describe the important concepts button
    • Up to 10 important concepts may be identified
    • A definition is provided for each concept
    • The important concepts identified do not always mirror the terms and ideas the authors have emphasized in the work