Most article databases have built in tools to make searching and finding information easier.
If you are looking for scholarly sources, most databases will have an option on the left-hand side of the search screen that says "scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals" or "scholarly journals". These options can be a quick way to get to articles and information that is scholarly in nature.
Art and Architecture Source covers fine arts, contemporary art, art history, architecture, costume design, advertising, interior design, crafts, photography, printmaking, sculpture, video and more.
Use a simple search box to find information from over 500 online encyclopedias, biographies, dictionaries (including translation dictionaries) and more.
Find citations, abstracts, and full-text articles in peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, and journals from academic publishers, scholarly organizations, and faculty from colleges and universities.
Search Tip: For full-text articles, include "Filetype:pdf" in the search box.
Full text and/or citations for magazine, newspaper, and journal articles in business, science, popular culture, as well as the performing and visual arts.
Subscription includes access to ABI/Inform Complete [scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news]; Design and Applied Arts Index [Journal articles on practice, theory and history of design, craft, advertising]; Hoover's Company Profiles, and other scholarly and news article resources
Nearly 200,000 eBooks on a wide variety of topics, including business, liberal arts, film studies, history, the arts, psychology, literature, economics, political science and other disciplines.
Gateway to other online resources that include electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, market reports, and books providing information and images on the arts, business, current events, technology, and other topics. Available to anyone in the state of Florida through their institution or public library. Note: You will need a public library card to access outside the state of Florida.
Includes access to: DemographicsNow; Career Transitions; Fine Arts and Music Collection; Gender Studies Collection; Diversity Studies Collection; Pop Culture Collections; Psychology Collection; Small Business Collection; World History Collection; and much more.
This link opens in a new window