LibGuides: ARTH 111: Development of Art and Ideas: Background Info

Background Information Databases

Use the following databases to look up background information. Background information can include dates, artists, biographies, works of art, art movements, and information about Art History. Think of these databases as a starting point for your research. The information contained in them is pretty broad, so you'll have to dig deeper after your initial searches to find more specific information about your topics in class.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use a simple search box to find information from over 500 online encyclopedias, biographies, dictionaries (including translation dictionaries) and more.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia spanning many disciplines, including biographies. Includes a world atlas, country statistics, country comparison and timelines.
Met's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Florida Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Gateway to other online resources that include electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, market reports, and books providing information and images on the arts, business, current events, technology, and other topics. Available to anyone in the state of Florida through their institution or public library. Note: You will need a public library card to access outside the state of Florida.
Includes access to: DemographicsNow; Career Transitions; Fine Arts and Music Collection; Gender Studies Collection; Diversity Studies Collection; Pop Culture Collections; Psychology Collection; Small Business Collection; World History Collection; and much more.