Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LMST 330: LGBTQ+ Literature and Film

This guide will help you find resources for your projects in this course.

Primary Source Archives

Below is a selection of archives for finding primary source information on LGBTQ+ Film and Literature. Primary source information can include diaries, speeches, letters, interviews, oral histories, and other first-hand accounts. This is not a full list of all of the archives that are available online, but it should give you a starting point for finding primary source materials and investigation for your research. Most of these sites will list additional archival and primary source collections that are available or searchable online. 

Archival Directory

Lavender Legacies is a publication from the Society of American Archivists published by the Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable that is a comprehensive guide to primary source material relating to the history and culture of lesbian, bisexual, gay, and transgendered (LBGT) people held by repositories in North America. You can use this site to search different archives across the country as well as gather information on their holdings, access, and additional details. 

Primary Source Databases

Use the following databases to look up primary source information. Primary source information can include diaries, speeches, letters, interviews, oral histories, and other first-hand accounts. Think of these databases as a starting point for your research. The information contained in them may be broad, so you'll have to evaluate your results after your initial searches to come to the conclusion of whether or not something is considered a primary source.