ARHU 400-02 The History and Culture of Food

Key Databases

JSTOR

Best for: Historical scholarly articles and primary sources

• Use subject terms like "food culture," "culinary history," "gastronomy"
• Filter by time period and region
• Look for special collections like "Global Plants" for historical botanical information

ProQuest Central

Best for: Contemporary scholarly articles and news sources

• Contains dissertations on food studies
• Includes trade publications and market research
• Use "Advanced Search" to combine concepts (e.g., "food sovereignty" AND "indigenous")

Gale Academic OneFile

Best for: Interdisciplinary research

• Access contemporary food journalism
• Find anthropological studies
• Explore cultural analysis of foodways

New York Times Historical Database

Best for: Primary sources and cultural context

• Search food columns and restaurant reviews
• Find historical advertisements
• Track changing attitudes toward food and dining

Recommended Websites

• Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project (Michigan State University)
• What America Ate Project (Digital archive of Depression-era food culture)
• The Food Timeline (Culinary history reference)

Evaluation Criteria

When using web sources, consider:

• Academic affiliation
• Citation of sources
• Currency of information
• Potential biases in food writing

Search Strategies

Subject Headings

Start with these Library of Congress Subject Headings:

• Food habits
• Cooking -- Social aspects
• Food -- History
• Gastronomy
• Food industry and trade -- History
• Food supply -- Political aspects

Sample Research Topics

Consider these angles for your research:

1. Food and colonialism
   • Impact on indigenous foodways
   • Spread of ingredients and techniques
   • Cultural appropriation in cuisine
2. Gender and food
   • Domestic labor
   • Professional kitchens
   • Food marketing and gender roles
3. Class and food access
   • Food deserts
   • Luxury dining culture
   • Labor conditions in food production

Finding Books

Library Catalog Tips

• Browse the GT2850-2920 call number range for food customs
• Check TX353-355 for food history
• Look in HD9000-9019 for food industry

General Research Tips

• Start Broad: Begin with general resources, then narrow to specific aspects.
• Combine Search Terms: Use terms like “[Food Item] AND [Country]” or “[Topic] AND [Social Issue].”
• Evaluate Sources: Focus on peer-reviewed articles, reputable publishers, and credible websites.
• Seek Primary Sources: Explore interviews, cookbooks, or archival material related to your topic.
• Library Catalog: Search for books on your topic. Suggested keywords:
  • "[Food item] history" (e.g., "Coffee history").
  • "[Person’s name] biography" (e.g., "Edna Lewis biography").
  • "Food culture [region]" (e.g., "Food culture Japan").

Additional Tips

Primary Sources

Look for:

• Historical cookbooks
• Menu collections
• Food advertisements
• Agricultural records
• Personal papers and diaries
• Government documents on food policy

Interdisciplinary Connections

Consider searching in:

• Anthropology databases
• Sociology indexes
• Environmental science resources
• Gender studies collections
• Economic databases

Remember to:

• Start broad, then narrow your focus
• Use both historical and contemporary sources
• Consider multiple perspectives
• Look for scholarly debate in the field
• Connect food topics to broader social issues