Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Use
The databases below all contain images that you can use for research in your courses. The Image Databases box contains images that are useful for researching specific artists, works of art, art history, contemporary art, and materials and surfaces. This page also contains links to Creative Commons images and Public Domain images.
Stock Photos + Images in the Public Domain
A selection of over 850,000 free, high-resolution photographs. Includes curated collections and popular searches such as public domain images, creative commons images, and stock photos.
The images are free because only public domain or Creative Commons licensed photos that are allowed for commercial use are added on this site.
New Old Stock
Vintage photos are from the public archives, free of known copyright restrictions, and recapture history.
Best free stock photos in one place.
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
Over 1.5 million high resolution images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, interior design, patterns and graphic design.
Images, biographies, auction records, exhibition records, and museum holdings of American and International artists
Our growing database of 350,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 50,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.
Materia is the global network in the area of innovative materials. Materia encourages joint innovation on the road to a more beautiful, sustainable and high-quality built environment.
Creative Commons Licenses
Understanding Creative Commons Licenses
This site will show you the difference between all of the different Creative Commons licenses so that you can determine which ones you can use for your project (allows remixing, must be used exactly, needs you to credit the creator, etc.).
Creative Commons licenses allow creators to make a license that gives you the right to do different things with their creations. Creative Commons allows you to do more with other people's work than copyright.
There are six different license types, but not all will be helpful for your work. The four major elements are:
- Attribution (BY) - you must credit the creator of the work you are using
- ShareAlike (SA) - you must license your work under the same Creative Commons license if you use material from a SA license
- NoDerivs (ND) - you cannot change the material and it must presented whole in your work
- NonCommercial (NC) - you cannot use this material for commercial projects
The four elements combine to make the six license types. The licenses that will be helpful for your projects are below (from most helpful to least helpful):
- Attribution - CC BY
- Attribution NonCommercial - CC BY NC
- Attribution ShareAlike - CC BY SA
- Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike - CC BY NC SA
These two licenses aren't helpful for your projects since they don't allow you to make derivatives (i.e., remix their material into your project):
- Attribution NoDerivs - CC BY ND
- Attribution NonCommercial NoDervis - CC BY NC ND
To see more about the individual licenses, click the link below:
Creative Commons Logos
All of the different versions of Creative Commons logos that you could use for your projects in a variety of formats (png, eps, etc.)