LibGuides: ARHU202X: Contemporary Research Methods for Creatives: Local Resources

Local Libraries

Sarasota County Libraries
The Sarasota County public library system offers a myriad of print and digital resources for local residents.
The Ringling Museum Art Library
The Ringling Museum Art Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive art research libraries in the southeastern United States. Located in the Education Center, the collection strengths reflect those of the Museum’s collections and The Ringling experience.
New College - Jane Bancroft Cook Library
The Cook Library collection number more than 250,000 items and contain books, media materials, games and puzzles, the Helen N. Fagin Holocaust and Genocide Collection, as well as other special collections.
State College of Florida Library
The SCF Library offers resources and services from the Bradenton and Venice campuses. CCA member students and faculty may check out books, DVDs, and periodicals.

Local Archives and Special Collections

Sarasota County Historical Resources Digital Collections
Online collections database of Sarasota County Historical Resources. To visit the physical space, see https://www.scgov.net/government/historical-resources.
Ringling Museum Archives
Preserving the archival collection records of historical value, encouraging scholarly research and serving as an educational resource about the Museum of Art, the Ringlings and the American circus is the mission of The Ringling Archives.
Mote Library Collections
The library's 26,000 volume print collection includes over 16,000 books and reports, 508 journal titles (approximately 11,000 journal issues), 4,500 cataloged reprints, and 1,700 Mote Technical Reports.
Florida Memory
Featuring over 207,000 digitized photographs from the State Library and Archives of Florida, the Florida Photographic Collection is the most complete online portrait of Florida available--one that draws its strength from family pictures, the homes of Floridians, their work, and their pastimes.
Sarasota Oral History
Partnered with a local, New College students interview, record and film the stories and scenes of Sarasota’s collective history.
The Samuel Proctor Oral History Program Collections
The SPOHP archive, in both digital and in physical format, is available for use by research scholars, students, journalists, genealogists, and the public.

Local Periodicals at the Goldstein Library

Both bound (back issues) and unbound (recent) periodicals are shelved alphabetically on the third floor of the library. *Items marked with an asterisk are Ringling College publications.

Current subscriptions to local periodicals at the Goldstein Library:

Contxt*
Mote Magazine
Sarasota Magazine
SRQ: Shop Talk Eat

Bound local periodicals at the Goldstein Library:

Contxt*
Converge: The SRQ Arts and Culture One Book
Mote Magazine
Perspectives: A Magazine for Alumni and Friends*
Ringling Magazine: A Student Publication
Sarasota Magazine
SRQ: Shop Talk Eat
Zigzag: Freedom of Speech is Not Dead Yet*