LibGuides: ARHU202X: Contemporary Research Methods for Creatives: Images and Media

Images Resources

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is a digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, design, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.

ARTstor Public Collections
Public collections are created, cataloged and shared on the Artstor platform. These collections range from library special collections, to faculty research, and institutional history and marketing materials. They represent a broad and unique range of content and contributors.

Artsy.net: Art Genome Project This link opens in a new window
The Art Genome Project from Artsy.net maps the characteristics that connect artists, artworks, architecture, and design objects across history. It includes art historical movements, subject matter, and formal qualities all with connected images and information.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Search for resources on world dress and fashion. Berg Fashion Library includes articles, e-books, images, essays, and the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
Extensive, comprehensive collection of innovative materials and processes, organized into polymers, cement-based materials, glass, metals, ceramics, natural materials, and carbon-based materials. Resource for artists and designers of all disciplines.

Digital Collections Online

Digitized/Digital Collections Online
A curated list of digital and digitized collections for creative practitioners and art researchers.
Florida Memory
A digital outreach program that provides free online access to select archival resources from collections in the State Library and Archives of Florida. These digitized materials highlight Florida's history and culture.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
World Digital Library
The materials collected by the WDL make it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.

Films

Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window
Streaming documentaries, feature films, animation, shorts, and more. Includes films from The Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Michael Blackwood, Kino Lorber and many more. (Kanopy is a mediated database, meaning titles must be requested for purchase.)
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus provides legal movie streaming to students outside of the classroom. Browse Ringling College's titles for available viewings.
Please note: Swank's streaming service does not work in the Safari browser. If viewing films on a mobile device, please download the Swank Media Player mobile app.

Library Sound Resources

Westar Music This link opens in a new window
Goldstein Library provides the Westar Music collection for download online. Download is only available to Ringling College students, faculty, and staff.

These files are copyrighted content provided under Goldstein Library's educational license agreement. By accepting any of them, you agree to limit your use of the files to synchronized recordings in timed relation with non-profit College or classroom projects. Transfer, copying, or duplication of these works in whole or in part for any other purpose is expressly prohibited unless specifically authorized in writing by Westar Music.
Killer Tracks (now Universal Production Music) This link opens in a new window
Read through the Terms of Use and Conditions agreement to access the resource. High quality music tracks to download. 33,000 tracks with 2-3 cut-down each for a total of 100,000 music tracks. Hip-hop, orchestral, pop rock, dramedy, film scores and more. To register for the resource click "Login/Register" and "Register Here". Be sure to use your RINGLING COLLEGE EMAIL.
Quick Search Tutorial: http://t.co/VeoPi9k
Advanced Search Tutorial: http://t.co/TWL6H0X
Free SFX This link opens in a new window
Search more than a thousand free sound effects. Alan McKinney of McKinney Sound asked professional sound companies and individuals around the world to contribute sound effects for everyone to use for free. There are some limitations to how you can use the sound effects - read those limitations at http://www.freesfx.co.uk/info/eula/.
Freesound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search a collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, and recordings of sound effects released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
Jamendo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Jamendo has thousands of Creative Commons music tracks.
Make sure to use the Advanced Search to limit your searching to Creative Commons licensed works.