Contemporary Research Methods for Creatives

General

• DART - Europe E-Theses Portal 
• Digital Commons Network
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
• EDGAR (Securities and Exchange Commission)
• ERIC: Education Resources Information Center
• ETHOS: Electronic Theses Online Service
• Fashion and Race Database
• Gateway to Library Catalogs (listing from the Library of Congress)
• Library of Congress Catalog 
• LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
• LocatorPlus (National Library of Medicine)
• Look and Learn Historical Image Archive (free images from public collections)
• National Academies Press (free e-books available)
• ProQuest Dissertation Express
• ProQuest PQDT Open Access Dissertations
• Smithsonian Archives
• Smithsonian Collections Search Center
• Smithsonian Institution Contributions and Studies Series
• Smithsonian Research Online
• SIRIS: Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
• WorldCat.org

Art, History, and Culture

• AHRnet Biographical Dictionary
• Artsy: Art Collecting and Education
• Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (Getty)
• CAMEO: Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online
• Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
• Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
• Dictionary of Canadian Biography
• Independent Voices (alternative presses)
• IsisCB Explore (Bibliography of the History of Science)
• Making of America Journals (Cornell)
• ThomasNet (Industrial Web)

Science

• AGRICOLA (National Agriculture Library)
• Algaebase
• American Society of Agronomy
• AnimalBase: Early Zoological Literature Online
• Biodiversity Heritage Library 
• Catalogue of Life (Species 2000 - ITIS)
• Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
• FishBase
• Index of Botanical Publications (Harvard University Herbaria)
• Index of Botanists (Harvard University Herbaria)
• International Plant Names Index
• IOPI Database of Plant Databases
• ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information System
• KBD: Kew Bibliographic Databases
• National Museum of Natural History Research and Collections Information System (EMu)
• Plant Information Online
• SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
• uBio Project
• U.S. Geological Survey Library