LibGuides: BOAD 275: Research and Data Analysis: Economic and Labor

Economic and Labor Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
The BLS collects statistics on all aspects of the nation's workforce such as unemployment rates, employment by sector, pay and benefits, consumer price index and employment costs. Use the Subject Areas section for an easy way to drill down to the statistics you need. The BLS also provides its own Economy at a Glance section.
United States Census Bureau: Business & Industry Statistics
Provides links to summary statistics from multiple data collection programs pertaining to the U.S. economy. This includes the Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Statistics of U.S. Businesses and Foreign Trade (Exports by State). In addition, you may access statistics on special topics such as e-commerce, women & minorities (business ownership), and data by sector (e.g. construction, mining, etc.).
U.S Department of Commerce: Bureau of Economic Analysis
The link above is to the BEA U.S. Economy at A Glance page. This page provides access to the most up-to-date information on the GDP, personal income, industry accounts, international accounts and more. Information is presented clearly in statistical charts and thematic maps. There are, of course, other areas of the site you may explore to get at deeper data.
Florida Economy at a Glance
This is provided by the BLS. This includes current unemployment rate, number of persons unemployed, and number of persons employed by sector (up to the last month - numbers are preliminary).

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Offers yearly reports covering consumer markets. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy.

The Florida Electronic Library provides access to several useful databases for market/industry research.

Florida Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Gateway to other online resources that include electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, market reports, and books providing information and images on the arts, business, current events, technology, and other topics. Available to anyone in the state of Florida through their institution or public library. Note: You will need a public library card to access outside the state of Florida.
Includes access to: DemographicsNow; Career Transitions; Fine Arts and Music Collection; Gender Studies Collection; Diversity Studies Collection; Pop Culture Collections; Psychology Collection; Small Business Collection; World History Collection; and much more.

Within Florida Electronic Library, try using the following collections/databases for market research:

Business Collection
Business Collection provides coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
Business Economics and Theory
Business Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
Business Insights: Essentials
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.

For more information on starting a small business, try using these collections:

Small Business Collection
Small Business Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines perfect for both business school students and entrepreneurs.
Small Business Resource Center
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business.