Cite My Sources

1. Author(s) In the notes, list all authors as normal. In the bibliography, list the first author's last name first.
2. "Title of the Article" Use headline capitalization and quotation marks.
3. Title of the Newspaper or Magazine Use title capitalization and italicize.
4. Date Include the Month Day, Year the article was published.
5. URL Include a link to the article if available online.

Notes

1. Amanda Petrusich, "Taylor Swift's Self-Scrutiny in 'Miss Americana,'" The New Yorker, February 4, 2020, https://www.newyorker.com/culture/cultural-comment/taylor-swifts-self-scrutiny-in-miss-americana.

Bibliography

Petrusich, Amanda. "Taylor Swift's Self-Scrutiny in 'Miss Americana." The New Yorker, Februrary 4, 2020. https://www.newyorker.com/culture/cultural-comment/taylor-swifts-self-scrutiny-in-miss-americana.

1. Author(s) In the notes, list all authors as normal. In the bibliography, list the first author's last name first.
2. Title of the Book Use headline capitalization and italics.
3. Place of publication: List the state (if from the U.S.) or the country associated with the published, then a colon :.
4. Publisher List the publisher of the book. This is usually listed on the copyright page.
5. Year Include the year in which the book you are citing was published.
6. Page number Include any relevant page numbers you are citing in the notes only.

Notes

1. Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (New York: Random House, 2002), 102.

Bibliography

Angelou, Maya. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. New York: Random House, 2002.

1. Author(s) of the Chapter. In the notes, list all authors as normal. In the bibliography, list the first author's last name first.
2. "Title of the Chapter or Essay" Use headline capitalization and quotation marks.
3. Title of the Book Include "in" then the the book in headline capitalization and italics.
4. Name of the Editor(s) Include "ed." or "eds." in the notes and "edited by" in the bibliography before the name of the editor(s).
5. Place of publication: List the state (if from the U.S.) or the country associated with the published, then a colon :.
6. Publisher List the publisher of the book. This is usually listed on the copyright page.
7. Year Include the year in which the book you are citing was published.
8. Page numbers Include the page range of the chapter you are citing in the notes only.

Notes

1. Richard Rodriguez, "Aria: A Memoir of a Bilingual Childhood," in The Best American Essays of the Century, ed. Joyce Carol Oats (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 2000), 447-466.

Bibliography

Richard Rodriguez. "Aria: A Memoir of a Bilingual Childhood." In The Best American Essays of the Century, edited by Joyce Carol Oats. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 2000.

1. Author In the notes, include the author, or if there is no specific author, list the title of the web page you are citing in quotation marks. In the bibliography, list the organization responsible for the website first.
2. Name of the Website If the name of the site is different from the author or the title of the page.
3. Date If there is a date of last review or last modified, list it here. If there is no date, list the date you accessed the web page.
4. URL.

Notes

1. "Conversation," Los Angeles County Museum of Art, accessed March 10, 2020, https://www.lacma.org/learn/conservation.

Bibliography

Los Angeles County Museum of Art. "Conversation." Accessed March 10, 2020. https://www.lacma.org/learn/conservation.