Evaluating and Selecting Resources

For many of your classes at Ringling College you will need to locate and use scholarly information.

Scholarly information, specifically articles published in periodicals, typically go through a process known as peer-review. These articles have been published by subject experts, then reviewed by other professionals familiar with the research area to ensure quality. 

Books - Traditionally published books provide in depth information or details on a certain topic. Chapters provide breakdowns on the topic being discussed or go into detail on subtopics. 

Scholarly Articles & Periodicals - Periodicals, or academic journals, are like magazines where scholarship relating to specific academic disciplines are published. These articles and journals are meant for the presentation, scrutiny, discussion, and promotion of research. 

Websites - Websites provide information in a digital format on specific topics or organizations - similar to books. Web pages, like book chapters, provide breakdowns on subtopics under one domain. 

Magazines & Newspapers - Magazines and newspapers are print publications released at regular intervals over time. The information published within these materials are usually current and updated as stories develop. 

Encyclopedias - Encyclopedias are sets of books that provide information on many aspects of one topic in alphabetical order. Encyclopedias can be subject specific or multidisciplinary. Some can be found online digitally. 

Videos - Videos can provide information in recorded format such as documentaries, tutorials, and training materials. 

No resource is perfect. Materials should be evaluated based on your information needs and the credibility of the organization, or expert, publishing the information. 

Search Engines (Google, Bing, Yahoo)

Search engines use computer programs to comb through the internet and find websites that relate back to keywords and search terms. 

Pros:

• Free to search.  
• Good to find descriptive information (Who, What, When, Where, Why). 

Cons: 

• Unorganized and hard to search through. 
• Promotes Ads. 
• Can lead to locked results that require payment to access. 
• Authority is unverified. 

Academic Databases

Academic databases are collections of published materials like books, articles, and journals. The information located in databases is typically scholarly in nature or relates to the organization's mission. 

Pros:

• Information is organized with parameters that can be applied to narrow or expand results. 
• Databases are purchased by the library or organization and free for patrons to use. 
• No Ads. 
• Relevant information promoted. 

Cons: 

• Results can be specific to keywords or phrases. Use synonyms and like terms to vary results. 
• Organize results by date so dated materials are organized last.