LibGuides: Ringling Zine Guide: Florida Zine Libraries

Academic Libraries with Zines

Ringling College of Art + Design Zine Collection

Our library, the Alfred R. Goldstein Library at Ringling College of Art + Design, houses a growing zine collection and represents a range of dynamic voices.

University of Central Florida Zine Collection

A collection of UCF student made zines, collected by professors Kristin Congdon, Larry Cooper, Maria C. Santana, and Anne Bubriski and donated to the Special Collections. Zines are collected in an ongoing cycle.

University of Florida Ernesto Chávez Zine Collection

George A.Smathers Library at the University of Florida in Gainesville holds a rare collection of zines of Cuban social and political issues

University of Miami Zine Collection

An ongoing collection of zines added to the holdings of the University of Miami Libraries Special Collections.

University of West Florida Zine Collection

A zine collection founded by UWF Zine Librarian Britt McGowan, who is also member of the 309 Punk Project Board of Directors.

University of South Florida Tampa Bay Zine Collection

Special Collections at the University of South Florida is now functioning as a repository for the Tampa Zine Library, which was established in conjunction with the Tampa Zine Fest in 2012. This particular collection reflects a mixture of donations, personal acquisitions, and zines that were featured at Tampa Zine Fest, and holds 538 zines from all over the world.

Zine Fests in Florida

Miami Zine Fest
Small Press Fair in Ft. Lauderdale
St. Pete Zine Fest
Tallahassee Zine Fest
Paper Jam (Ringling College of Art + Design, Sarasota) (on hiatus)
Tampa Zine Fest (on hiatus?)
NCF Zine Fest (on hiatus)

Image: "Taking my Morning Ride at Miami, Florida." from the University of Florida Digital Collections

Public Libraries with Zines

Jacksonville Public Library Zine Collection
Jacksonville Public Library's Zine Collection focuses on regionally-based zines in an effort to better reflect the voices in our community and region. The scope of the collection is broad, including the arts, music, comics, politics, gender issues and advocacy.

Other Zine Libraries in Florida

Love Your Rebellion Zine Library
LYR's Zine Library is a is a free-for-the-public exhibition-based project at Neenie’s House in East Fort Myers that features art and writing books from people from marginalized groups, as well as four public art installments. At least 25% of the library collection is English/Spanish bilingual to serve the Hispanic community local to East Fort Myers. The Zine Library is free to enter, and patrons are encouraged to read, write or create art in the library seating areas. Patrons can come into the library at any time during open hours to browse the library collection, which includes 150 DIY art and writing books from around the world. Most authors that contribute to the LYR Zine Library self-identify as women, immigrants, people of color, people from queer and trans communities, people from low income communities, and/or people with disabilities.
Civic Media Center's Stetson Kennedy Library
Stetson Kennedy Library at the Civic Media Center in Gainesville has the biggest zine collection in the southeast! They also have fifteen thousand books, journals, newspapers, and magazines by independent, non-corporate media on a wide variety of subjects.
309 Punk Archives
The 309 Punk Archive is preserved to inspire research and creative practice from collective histories that are currently preserved in the archive. The archive works to extend the reach of our audience while diversifying our own voice in the punk community. They have been collecting Pensacola Punk ephemera since 2017, and have amassed a collection of images, videos, photographs, posters, zines, fliers, clothing and a multitude of art objects.

Please Keep Us Current!

Note: this guide tries to be comprehensive, but it's creator does not have the knowledge of every zine collection and zine fest in Florida (much to her dismay). If you see anything you would like to add to this guide, please contact your friendly Ringling College librarians!