Artstor is a digital library of almost two million images in the arts, architecture, design, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Artstor’s diverse collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere.
The Art Genome Project from Artsy.net maps the characteristics that connect artists, artworks, architecture, and design objects across history. It includes art historical movements, subject matter, and formal qualities all with connected images and information.
Search for resources on world dress and fashion. Berg Fashion Library includes articles, eBooks, images, essays, and the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
Extensive, comprehensive collection of innovative materials and processes, organized into polymers, cement-based materials, glass, metals, ceramics, natural materials, and carbon-based materials. Resource for artists and designers of all disciplines.
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (Backfiles end 3 - 5 years prior to current date).
Streaming documentaries, feature films, animation, shorts, and more. Includes films from The Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Michael Blackwood, Kino Lorber and many more. (Kanopy is a mediated database, meaning titles must be requested for purchase.)
Swank Digital Campus provides legal movie streaming to students outside of the classroom. Browse Ringling College's titles for available viewings.
Please note: Swank's streaming service does not work in the Safari browser. If viewing films on a mobile device, please download the Swank Media Player mobile app.
Goldstein Library provides the Westar Music collection for download online. Download is only available to Ringling College students, faculty, and staff.
These files are copyrighted content provided under Goldstein Library's educational license agreement. By accepting any of them, you agree to limit your use of the files to synchronized recordings in timed relation with non-profit College or classroom projects. Transfer, copying, or duplication of these works in whole or in part for any other purpose is expressly prohibited unless specifically authorized in writing by Westar Music.
Search more than a thousand free sound effects. Alan McKinney of McKinney Sound asked professional sound companies and individuals around the world to contribute sound effects for everyone to use for free. There are some limitations to how you can use the sound effects - read those limitations at http://www.freesfx.co.uk/info/eula/.
Search a collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, and recordings of sound effects released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
Jamendo has thousands of Creative Commons music tracks.
Make sure to use the Advanced Search to limit your searching to Creative Commons licensed works.
