It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Collections Center: Primary Sources for Artists and Designers
Virtual services: Special Collections staff are available to answer reference questions and meet for research consultations by phone, email, or Zoom. To request a scan from physical library materials, please use our Scan Request Form.
The Library and Archives are open to the public for study and exploration Monday through Friday. Appointments are suggested for library visitors and required for archival tours. For further information call (941) 388-4441, extension 333.
Art library with resources from the 16th to the 21st centuries, including fine art, decorative art, art history, architecture, fashion, and theater. Also has an archive with the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey circus collection, the Ringling family papers, museum records, and photographic collections.
Repository of all things related to Sarasota county history. The collections include architectural drawings, plans, and blueprints, an aerial photograph collection, and the "Works on Paper" collection of original art, posters, and documents.
Library with an ecological focus. Contains rare books, a botanical print collection, a photographic slide collection, an illustration file, a map file, a historical archive for the gardens, architectural drawings for the gardens, and a spirit collection of plant specimens.
Manatee County Historical Resources Library is closed New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday, President’s Day, Memorial Day Weekend, 4th of July Holiday, Labor Day Weekend, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving Weekend, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.
Museum with a focus on science, nature, and all eras of South Florida history. The collections contains archaeological materials, a Patron's Gallery of Decorative Arts, and a Visible Storage Gallery displaying objects related to paleontology, archaeology, decorative arts, textiles, ethnography, minerals, and shells. The museum also has a life-size interactive backyard for children, a fully digital planetarium, and a manatee rehabilitation center.
Collection dedicated to the history of Venice, Laurel, Nokomis, and Osprey. It contains, photographs, library materials, and objects (fossils, clothing and textiles, furniture, ephemera, fine art, and other historical artifacts).
Museum research collection that around Salvador Dali, Surrealism, and the Avant-garde. Items housed there include exhibition and sale catalogs, video and sound recordings on Dali's life and other artists and genres within the Surrealist and Avant-garde movements. The Special Collections contain rare books, collectible books, photographs, magazines, and clippings.
Hours (student discounts offered)
Daily 10:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Thursdays until 8 p.m.
Last ticket sold at 5:15 p.m.
7:45 p.m. on Thursdays
Museum Store and Gardens open 30 minutes after closing
The Library is open to scholars and researchers who have a specifically-defined project. To schedule an appointment or for more information, please complete our inquiry form below or contact The Dali Museum’s Librarian, Shaina Buckles Harkness at firstname.lastname@example.org. Research questions must fall within the purview of The Dali Museum Library’s collection. Please include detailed information about your inquiry within the form.
Resource center with collections of books, archives, print and AV materials related to LRMA's history and collections. The Center also has a collection of 20-21st century art books, an art library with reference materials, rare antiquarian books, first editions, and signed editions. These resources can be made available to researchers by appointment.
Museum housed within the University of Tampa, contains collections of ephemera from the old Tampa Bay Hotel, Plant railroads and steamships, the Spanish-American War, newspapers, photographs, brochures, postcards, timetables, marketing materials, and books. The permanent exhibits contain sculptures, Gilded age interior design decor and furniture.
Museum and research center focusing on Tampa Bay. Contains a collection of Florida history literature, rare books, maps, microfilm, ephemera, prehistoric artifacts, paintings, textiles, utilitarian ceramics, postcards, furniture, cigar ephemera, and the Lamar Sparkman collection (an artist and cartoonist for the Tampa Times and Tampa Tribune).
Hours (paid admission to the museum, student discounts offered)
Open Daily from 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Closed Thanksgiving and Christmas Day
Holiday Hours: New Years Eve & Christmas Eve 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.
To conduct research - Witt Research Center: The Witt Research Center is open by appointment only. Please contact Bill Harris at (813) 204-2630 to schedule your visit. We request that appointments be scheduled at least three days in advance of your visit.
Special Collections with many subject areas, including the Florida Studies Center collection, the LGBT Collection, a children's and young adult literature collections, science fiction and fantasy collections, the Holocaust and Genocide studies collection, book arts and fine press printing collections, art collections, and digital collections.