*New Hours (Fall and Spring Semester)*
Monday - Friday: By appointment from 9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., no drop-ins
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Reading Room Occupancy: 3 people (2 researchers + 1 staff member max)
Ringling College of Art + Design
2nd floor of the Alfred R. Goldstein Library
2700 N. Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34234
Our educational mission is to introduce our publics to diverse voices and ideas that challenge staid constructions of the canon and the master work. The Center routinely juxtaposes the familiar and widely recognized with the lesser known and the underrepresented. Through our work, we hope that the next generation of thinkers and makers will draw inspiration from a nuanced web of references.
Hands-On Object-Based Research
At the Center, you can gather ideas for a creative project, engage in scholarly research, or discover something new. Gain hands-on experience utilizing primary sources in our reading room, and explore our unique collections through an active exhibition program and campus events. As material objects with specific histories, the items in the Special Collections Center can be a great way to explore questions about conception, production, circulation, readership, and cultural histories.
The collections namely consist of artists’ books and photo-bookworks from the 1960s to the present; illustrated books and periodicals from the 1700s forward; historic and contemporary prints and printed matter from the 1450s forward; specialty archives and collections; and a new institutional archive.
You'll find: broadsides, campus materials, democratic multiples, documentation of time-based and performance projects, engravings, exhibition publications, experimental writing, fine press books, flip books, handmade editions, historic facsimiles, parlor toys, photographs, pop-up books, prints, rare books, zines, and more. See our Collection Highlights (new!) for details.
Open to Everyone
Open to students, staff, faculty, art and design practitioners, and the general public. Our Center functions as a reading room, classroom, print study center, and gallery. To schedule an individual appointment, research consultation, class visit, or group tour please contact our Center staff in advance.
Faculty Resources & Curricular Support
As a teaching resource for faculty, the Center can be utilized for class visits, critique sessions, performances, and extracurricular activities. For class visits, see How to Use the Center for a brief overview and the SC Educator Guide (new!) for more information about our educational offerings, lesson plan ideas, and ways to browse and learn about the collections. Interested faculty/classes are also invited to collaborate with the Center on Exhibitions and Special Projects.
From the Vault
Exhibition on view in-person and online, end date TBD
From the Vault introduces the collections of the Brizdle-Schoenberg Special Collections Center through selected works from the vault. Engage a variety of primary sources from twelve collections: Artists’ Books, Broadsides & Posters, Exhibition Catalogs & Printed Matter, Facsimile Editions, Illustrated Books, Miniature Books, Optical Toys, Periodicals, Photobooks, Pop-up Books, Prints & Engravings, and Zines.
This exhibition corresponds with the newly launched SC Collection Guide that contains video, item descriptions, critical questions for self-reflection/discussion, and more.
Image: Marshall Weber and Lawrence Weber, My Brother’s Keepsake (Brooklyn: Booklyn Artists Alliance, 2005).