Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives Resources on the Web
A curated list of resources related to archives and conducting archival research:
Citing Primary Sources in MLA
A guide by the Library of Congress on how to cite archival and primary source materials.
Copyright and Unpublished Material: An Introduction for Users of Archives and Manuscript Collections
An FAQs page on how to start approaching copyright for archival collections created by the Intellectual Property Working Group of the Society of American Archivists.
Dictionary of Archives Terminology
Definitions for terms used by archivists and archives practitioners.
How to Read a Finding Aid
This guide from Purdue University gives a great overview of what a finding aid is and what information it can contain.
National Archives' Document Analysis Worksheets
NARA's Document Analysis Worksheets for secondary students can help you read and interpret primary sources including artifacts, artwork, cartoons, maps, photographs, posters, sound recordings, videos, and written documents.
Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using
A brief guide on how to find, evaluate, and use primary sources on the web by the American Library Association's Reference and User Services Association.
Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research by Laura Schmidt
A guide on how archives function and best practices for using archives in your own research. PDF version.
Resources for locating archives on the web: