Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections Center: Archives

Contact Us

Schedule an appointment, in-person or virtual
specialcollections@c.ringling.edu

Sign-up for a research consultation, virtual
https://calendly.com/goldstein-library

Virtual services: Special Collections staff are available to answer reference questions and meet for research consultations by phone, email, or Zoom. To request a scan from physical library materials, please use our Scan Request Form.

Janelle Rebel
Digital Curation and Special Collections Librarian 
jrebel@c.ringling.edu
(941) 359-7583

Alexandra Vargas-Fournier, CA
Archivist
avfourni@ringling.edu
(941) 309-4055

Follow us on Social Media:

Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube

Hours & Location

*New Hours (Fall and Spring Semester)*

Monday - Friday: By appointment from 9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., no drop-ins
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Reading Room Occupancy: 3 people (2 researchers + 1 staff member max)

Location
Ringling College of Art + Design
2nd floor of the Alfred R. Goldstein Library
2700 N. Tamiami Trail
Sarasota, FL 34234

Download a campus map

Cover image of Ringling School of Art academic catalog from 1938-39

Ringling School of Art Academic Catalog (1938-1939)

Cover image of promotional program for Ringling School of Art's Wildacres summer term 1941

Wildacres Summer Term Program (1941)

Aerial photo of Ringling School circa 1948 from Portfolio publication

Aerial view of Ringling School of Art (1948)

Ringling School of Art Promo Material (ca. 1940s-1950s)

Beaux Arts Ball program cover from 1955

Beaux Arts Ball Program (1955)

Fine Arts students on and around school bus, 1970

Fine Arts Students, "Portfolio" Yearbook (1969)

Photo of Ringling School of Art sign in front of annual student sidewalk art sale in 1970

Annual Sidewalk Art Sale, "Portfolio" Yearbook (1970)

Cover image of Ringling School of Art photo album from 1951-53

Ringling School of Art Photo Album (1951-1953)

Cover image of Porfolio yearbook from 1964

"Porfolio" Yearbook (1964)

Cover image of Portfolio yearbook from 1970

"Porfolio" Yearbook (1970)

Ringling School of Art installation at Medieval Faire 1979 called

Ringling School of Art at the Medieval Faire (1979)

Mission Statement

The mission of the Ringling College of Art & Design Archives is to:

  • Chronicle the history of the College in Sarasota and the art and design community at large
  • Document and support the college’s mission of preparing students to be discerning visual thinkers and ethical art and design practitioners
  • Preserve and contextualize the history of Ringling College for future generations
  • Build, describe, and make available materials of historical significance to the College

In the Archives

The Ringling College Archives have both organized and unorganized collections of historical campus materials, including:

  • Campus publications (yearbooks, catalogs, commencement materials, promotional literature, student magazines, etc.)
  • Departmental collections
  • Posters
  • Architectural blueprints and schematics
  • Photographs and scrapbooks
  • Media (VHS, DVD, audio cassettes) 
  • College ephemera

Services

What does the Ringling College Archives do? 

  • Makes the College's archives and history accessible to the campus community and the public
  • Offers research consultations on using archives at Ringling College and beyond
  • Provides class instruction on archives and primary sources
  • Trains users on Special Collections' Overhead Book Scanner
  • Consults on digital archiving initiatives and best practices for digital storage organization

Finding Aids

The Archives have both processed and unprocessed materials relating to the college's history. Below are links to the finding aids for collections that are readily available for use. 

Looking for something else related to Ringling College history? Email the Archives to ask about our other holdings.